Desires of the Dead By: Kimberly Derting

     Violet can sense the echoes of those who’ve been murdered—and the matching imprint that clings to their killers. Only those closest to her know what she is capable of, but when she discovers the body of a young boy she also draws the attention of the FBI, threatening her entire way of life.

As Violet works to keep her morbid ability a secret, she unwittingly becomes the object of a dangerous obsession. Normally she’d turn to her best friend, Jay, except now that they are officially a couple, the rules of their relationship seem to have changed. And with Jay spending more and more time with his new friend Mike, Violet is left with too much time on her hands as she wonders where things went wrong. But when she fills the void by digging into Mike’s tragic family history, she stumbles upon a dark truth that could put everyone in danger.

Violet is not completely normal girl, and she knows that herself. She can see ‘echoes’ on the murdered and the same echo on the murderer. Violet just can’t help and be attracted to the murdered. One day she makes the mistake of finding an echo and reporting it. Next thing she knows the FBI is calling her house and a girl named Sara Priest along with a boy… a totally hot boy…. named Rafe is asking her all kinds of questions.   This book is just great in so many ways. Sure, it wasn’t as creepy and exciting as its previous book, The Body Finder, but I think it still has its own merits. First off, I thought the plot was great. It kept me in an emotional roller coaster. I remember accusing everybody to be the the killer, because let’s admit it; who saw the ending for The Body Finder coming? The beginning of the book kept me guessing, but as soon as I passed the mid-point of the book, everything just became so predictable. I find that there could have been more mystery ans suspense in the book instead of teenage drama. Finally, lets talk about the romance aspect of the book! Jay and Violet are finally a couple! That was one thing that I anticipated the most. Jay is just…. to put it in one word sweet, and I loved everything about him from the previous book onto this one. But Violet in the other hand, well, let’s just say that it’s bad news. I found that Violet was very moody and unnecessarily insecure and jealous . She did so many things that I would have done differently or not at all.

Other characters were introduced into the book. The new kids in school Mike an Megan and the FBI Sara Priest and Rafe. If I would have to chose which one my favorite character is, it would be hands down Rafe. I am not going to lie, he’s kind of awkward at times, but he’s just so full of mystery and the way he acts is so intriguing. I want to say so much more, but I know I’ll just end up spoiling the whole thing. So I’ll just say that I would not be that disappointed it a tiny tiny love triangle forms in the next book. I’ll leave it at that! Overall, I really liked the new character. Specially Mike.

This book had a good beginning, a predictable body but did not fail to give me the ending I wanted. I loved the first book of the series and this one was great as well. I hope to see more Rafe and Violet…  mostly Rafe…in the future!

-Caryl

Leave a Reply

